Hittin’ the Open Road, Indie Style – Euro Truck Simulator 2

 

Buy the original base game

Guess what? I’m still alive and kicking – yes, I know that it’s been far too long since my last post here at Tired Gamer. A mix of life and minor narcolepsy issues over the past few weeks, as well as my acquisition of an ASUS gaming laptop – courtesy of my younger brother – have kept me doing a lot more updating drivers and tweaking settings in my spare time than, well… writing. Excuses, excuses, I know.

Being an avid indie gamer, I’m not overly enthused with the current state of console gaming. I’ve not yet purchased a next generation console and have no intention of doing so in the near future. I had, however, planned to build a decent gaming desktop this year, as the vast majority of what I care to play over the course of the next year is indie developed, and therefore, finding itself landing on PC. Well, I’m in the PC game now, so there will be a drastic shift from console titles to PC titles here now; that means a lot more indie love!

The first indie title that I’ve stumbled across that really has taken me by surprise is SCS Software’s Euro Truck Simulator 2. I drove a Class A CDL truck for Pepsi Cola for about six years and I know very well what it ‘feels’ like to drive a commercial vehicle. I’m amazed at how well the team has replicated what it is like to drive a truck in a virtual environment. It isn’t perfect, of course, but it’s believable enough to keep my interest for hours on end, and I’m still truckin’. Hooking up to trailers, backing the into designated delivery docks and feeling the weight of the load on the truck’s engine on inclines, the game simply ‘feels’ right.

Yet, there’s another part of this game that’s completely shocked me, and that is that you can build a truckin’ empire. Yes, what starts off as simple contract deliveries, turns into bank loans, truck and garage ownerships and eventually hiring and managing drivers – all while you’re on the road yourself. It’s brilliant and something that you would never find outside of PC gaming. If you’ve not tried this gem yourself, I highly recommend giving the game’s demo a download on Steam and trying it for yourself.

Future Euro Truck Simulator 2 updates are sure to come.

 

Leave a Reply

